National Skill Development Agency
Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Government of India

Launch of Mainstream Aspirational Districts through Skill Development

The programme To Mainstream Aspirational Districts through Skill Development was launched by Mr. Anant Kumar Hegde , Minister of State, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (MSDE) on 3rd October 2018. The programme will be implemented in 117 Districts across 28 State. The programme involves identification of challenges for skill development and co-creating customized solutions to help the districts overcome these challenges. More than150 officials from MSDE, DGT, NSDC and NSDA will be involved in field visits to the Aspirational Districts Through the programme, MSDE endeavors to facilitate strengthening of governance and institutional infrastructure for skill development.

The Mission commences on 3rd October 2018 and will be operationalised in three phases. The outcomes are expected to be announced by 26th January 2019.

Objective of the Programme:

  • Mapping of skill profile of the district
  • Appraisal of District Skill ecosystem
  • Identifying district specific Challenges and Potential areas of support required in the district
  • Development of District Skill Development Plan through consultation process
  • Implementation support for the work plan to the districts

Important elements of Programme:

  • Institutional mechanisms to ensure coordination among Central, State and District Administration
    • District Skill Committee
    • District Skill Development Plan
  • Convergence of Initiatives of the Central and State Governments
  • Documentation of dissemination of best practices
  • Partnering with expert organizations and leveraging their strengths and reach for assisting districts.
  • MSDE to provide Technical and Financial Assistance

Approach and Strategy

  • Phase 1 - Identification of Challenges: An appraisal of the district skill development systems and process will be undertaken. Based on this challenges being faced by the district for skill development will be identified.
  • Phase 2 - Development of District Skill Development Plan (DSDP): The DSDP will be prepared in consultation with District skill committee and other stakeholders.
  • Phase 3 - Implementation of District Skill Development Plan: The plan will be implemented in consultation with stakeholders and expert organizations. The expert organizations will facilitate reach for assisting districts

The Mission will be operationalised through formulation of District Skill Committee (DSC) in coordination with the State Skill Development Mission (SSDM)

Expected outcomes

  • The programme will involve mapping of resources and convergence of Schemes at district level
  • For bridging the gap between demand and supply, a differential approach to address geographic and sectoral gaps will be formulated
  • Building skill ecosystem through enablers such as mobilization, counseling and industry engagement.
  • Real-time Monitoring & participatory appraisal for District Plans





District Action Plans as shared by Aspirational Districts to NITI Aayog

State Engagement Officer Contact List - National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC)


Contact List of State Skill Development Mission(SSDM)



District Profile

State District District Profile
Andhra Pradesh Visakhapatanam Click Here
Andhra Pradesh Vizianagaram Click Here
Andhra Pradesh Cuddapah Click Here
Arunachal Pradesh Namsai Click Here
Assam Dhubri Click Here
Assam Darrang Click Here
Assam Barpeta Click Here
Assam Goalpara Click Here
Assam Baksa Click Here
Assam Hailakandi Click Here
Assam Udalguri Click Here
Bihar Auranagabad Click Here
Bihar Khagaria Click Here
Bihar Nawada Click Here
Bihar Muzaffarpur Click Here
Bihar Banka Click Here
Bihar Jamui Click Here
Bihar Sitamarhi Click Here
Bihar Begusarai Click Here
Bihar Katihar Click Here
Bihar Araria Click Here
Bihar Sheikhpura Click Here
Bihar Purnia Click Here
Bihar Gaya Click Here
Chhattisgarh Rajnandagon Click Here
Chhattisgarh Kanker Click Here
Chhattisgarh Bastar Click Here
Chhattisgarh Dantewada Click Here
Chhattisgarh Bijapur Click Here
Chhattisgarh Narayanpur Click Here
Chhattisgarh Sukma Click Here
Chhattisgarh Kondagaon Click Here
Chhattisgarh Korba Click Here
Chhattisgarh Mahasamund Click Here
Gujarat Dahod Click Here
Gujarat Narmada Click Here
Haryana Mewat Click Here
Himachal Pradesh Chamba Click Here
Jammu And Kashmir Kupwara Click Here
Jammu And Kashmir Baramulla Click Here
Jharkhand Ranchi Click Here
Jharkhand Lohardaga Click Here
Jharkhand Gumla Click Here
Jharkhand Simdega Click Here
Jharkhand Palamu Click Here
Jharkhand Latehar Click Here
Jharkhand Garhwa Click Here
Jharkhand West Singhbhum Click Here
Jharkhand Purbi Singhbhum Click Here
Jharkhand Dumka Click Here
Jharkhand Hazaribag Click Here
Jharkhand Chatra Click Here
Jharkhand Giridih Click Here
Jharkhand Bokaro Click Here
Jharkhand Ramgarh Click Here
Jharkhand Khunti Click Here
Jharkhand Sahebganj Click Here
Jharkhand Pakur Click Here
Jharkhand Godda Click Here
Karnataka Raichur Click Here
Karnataka Yadgir Click Here
Kerala Wayanad Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Damoh Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Khandwa Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Vidisha Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Barwani Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Singrauli Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Guna Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Chhatarpur Click Here
Madhya Pradesh Rajgarh Click Here
Maharashtra Gadchiroli Click Here
Maharashtra Nandurbar Click Here
Maharashtra Osmanabad Click Here
Maharashtra Washim Click Here
Manipur Chandel Click Here
Meghalaya Ri Bhoi Click Here
Mizoram Mamit Click Here
Nagaland Kiphire Click Here
Odisha Malkangiri Click Here
Odisha Nabarangpur Click Here
Odisha Nuapada Click Here
Odisha Kandhamala Click Here
Odisha Balangir Click Here
Odisha Kalahandi Click Here
Odisha Rayagada Click Here
Odisha Koraput Click Here
Odisha Gajapati Click Here
Odisha Dhenkanal Click Here
Punjab Firozepur Click Here
Punjab Moga Click Here
Rajasthan Jaisalmer Click Here
Rajasthan Dholpur Click Here
Rajasthan Karauli Click Here
Rajasthan Sirohi Click Here
Rajasthan Baran Click Here
Sikkim West District Click Here
Tamil Nadu Virudhunagar Click Here
Tamil Nadu Ramanathapuram Click Here
Telangana Khammam Click Here
Telangana Jayashankar Bhoopalpalli Click Here
Telangana Komaram Bheem Asifabad Click Here
Tripura Dhalai Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Bahraich Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Sonbhadra Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Balrampur Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Shravasti Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Chitrakoot Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Fatehpur Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Siddharth Nagar Click Here
Uttar Pradesh Chandauli Click Here
Uttarakhand Haridwar Click Here
Uttarakhand Udam Singh Nagar Click Here
West Bengal Birbhum Click Here
West Bengal Maldah Click Here
West Bengal Murshidabad Click Here
West Bengal Nadia Click Here
West Bengal Dinajpur Dakshin Click Here