India-EU Skills Development Project Introduction

The India-EU Skills Development project funded by the European Union assists the National Skill Development Agency (NSDA), selected State Skill Development Missions (SSDMs) and Sector Skill Councils (SSCs) in implementing policies aimed at skilling large numbers of Indian men and women to increase their employability and entrepreneurship, as a precondition of economic and social development. The project does that by using international experience for developing institutional capacities in the Indian context, by helping to define standards and procedures of implementing the National Skill Qualification Framework (NSQF) and by supporting the development of the Indian Labour Market Information System (LMIS). At the ground level the project experts work with the Indian partners on piloting labour market analysis through company surveys, on assessing training needs, on developing and testing examples of competence based curricula and on training the trainers and assessors. The India-EU Skills Development project is implemented by a consortium led by Cambridge Education, which is the global education brand of the Mott MacDonald Group.

Major components of the technical collaboration

  • Enhanced capacity of Beneficiary institutions (study visits, training of trainer program, workshops on assessment, gender & Unorganized sector). Study visits organized to France, Germany, Australia and UK.
  • NSQF Implementation (Assistance in Development of Qualification file template, guidance document, NQF Handbook, initial draft of Quality Assurance Framework and select state workshops)
  • Labour Market information Systems and Analysis (Draft concept paper and Pilot Labour Market analysis report submitted to NSDA)
Key Beneficiary stakeholders

  • National Skill Development Agency (NSDA)
  • Ministry of Skill Development And Entrepreneurship (MSDE)
  • National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC)
  • Beauty and Wellness Sector Skill Council
  • Capital Goods Sector Skill Council
  • Logistics Sector Skill Council
  • Plumbing Sector Skill Council
  • Healthcare Sector Skill Council
  • Construction Sector Skill Council
  • Himachal Pradesh State Skill Development Mission
  • Karnataka State Skill Development Mission
  • Uttar Pradesh State Skill Development Mission

59 months (14 February 2012 to 14 January 2017)